Yorkston/Thorne/Khan – Neuk Wight Delhi All-Stars

The second Yorkston/Thorne/Khan album, released by Domino on April 7th, represents a confluence of currents, among them the north Indian sarangi; jazz-tinged bass, reminiscent in places of Danny Thompson; acoustic guitar that owes a debt to Elizabeth Cotton, Dick Gaughan and Mississippi John Hurt; and three very different vocalists. The combination is unusual: YTK’s Everything Sacred, released in 2016, may be the only precedent. Yet while, on paper, the constituent elements might seem disparate, the new album is, if anything, even more coherent than its predecessor. It also basks in a truly magnificent title: Neuk Wight Delhi All-Stars. Just don’t call it fusion.

  • Künstler*in


  • Herkunft


  • Titel

    Neuk Wight Delhi All-Stars

  • Format


  • 07.04.2017

  • Label

    Domino Records

  • Besetzung

    James Yorkston (guitar) , Jon Thorne (bass), Suhail Yusuf Khan (sarangi)

  • Pressetext

    PDF [PDF, 324.79kB]

  • Kontakt

    Fabienne Schmuki